LibraryReads: February 2019 – Daniel Boone Regional Library

LibraryReads: February 2019

Library Reads logo

I’m excited to share these LibraryReads with you! We have a great variety of books for you including fantasy and a graphic novel, but if those aren’t your cup of tea, fear not, there’s something for everyone. Check out these newly-published librarian favorites:

Silent Patient book coverThe Silent Patient
by Alex Michaelides

“Led on a dark path, readers will quickly guess that there’s more to Alicia’s story than what meets the eye. But the big surprises lie in the deep betrayals and the shock of an ending. Dark, twisted, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins and Ruth Ware.”
~Amy Fellows, Multnomah County Library, Portland,OR

 

Priory of the Orange Tree book coverThe Priory of the Orange Tree
by Samantha Shannon

“Brilliant world building; multi-dimensional characters; magic; friendship; plots; secrets; romance; and battles between good and evil … this book has it all. The best new fantasy I’ve read in years. I eagerly await the next installment. For fans of Naomi Novik.”
~Alexa Newman, Algonquin Area Public Library, Algonquin, IL

 

Kid Gloves book coverKid Gloves: Nine Months of Careful Chaos
by Lucy Knisley

“This wonderful graphic novel is also the most honest, comprehensive, revealing and helpful book on pregnancy, miscarriages, birth, breastfeeding and everything in between that has ever been written. I wish I had had this book as I was leveled with morning sickness for nine months.”
~Jesica Sweedler DeHart, Neill Public Library, Pullman, WA

 

Finding Dorothy book coverFinding Dorothy
by Elizabeth Letts

“In examining the meeting between Judy Garland and Maud Baum, Letts weaves two narratives: Hollywood in 1938-39, and Baum’s childhood and marriage to L. Frank Baum, author of the book that inspired the movie. A fascinating behind-the-scenes story for Oz fans.”
~Lauren McLaughlin, Wilton Library Association, Wilton, CT

 

Here are the rest of the new librarian favorites for your holds-placing pleasure:

Leave a Reply