2018 ALA Youth Media Awards

Book Cover of The Hate You GiveEarly every year, the American Library Association (ALA) hosts its annual Youth Media Awards Press Conference. At this time, authors and illustrators of children’s and young adult literature are recognized for the amazing works they have published over the last year.

One of the most celebrated titles this year was “The Hate U Give” by Angie Thomas.  It won the Odyssey Award, the Morris Award, and was an honor book for the Printz Award and the Coretta Scott King Award.

Check out these other riveting reads for children and teens.

Alex Award Winners are the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences.

All Systems Red” by Martha Wells
The Clockwork Dynasty” by Daniel H. Wilson
Down Among the Sticks and Bones” by Seanan McGuire
Electric Arches” by Eve L. Ewing
A Hope More Powerful Than the Sea” by Melissa Fleming
Roughneck” by Jeff Lemire
She Rides Shotgun” by Jordan Harper
Things We Have in Common” by Tasha Kavanagh
An Unkindness of Magicians” by Kat Howard

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults.

Award Winner:  “We Are Okay” by Nina LaCour
Honor Book:  “The Hate U Give” by Angie Thomas
Honor Book:  “Long Way Down” by Jason Reynolds
Honor Book:  “Strange the Dreamer” by Laini Taylor
Honor Book:  “Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers” by Deborah Heiligman

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature.

Award Winner:  “Hello, Universe” by Erin Entrada Kelly
Honor Book: “Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut” by Derrick Barnes
Honor Book: “Long Way Down” by Jason Reynolds
Honor Book: “Piecing Me Together” by Renée Watson

Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizes an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults:

Award Winner:  “Piecing Me Together” by Renée Watson
Honor Book:  “Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut” by Derrick Barnes
Honor Book:  “Long Way Down” by Jason Reynolds
Honor Book:  “The Hate U Give” by Angie Thomas

Odyssey Award for best audiobook produced for children and/or young adult.

Award Winner:  “The Hate U Give” by Angie Thomas and narrated by Bahni Turpin.
Honor Audiobook: “The Book of Dust: La Belle Sauvage” by Philip Pullman and narrated by Michael Sheen
Honor Audiobook:  “A Boy Called Christmas” by Matt Haig and narrated by Stephen Fry
Honor Audiobook:  “Long Way Down” written and narrated by Jason Reynolds;
Honor Audiobook:  “Trombone Shorty” by Troy “Trombone Shorty” Andrews and narrated by Dion Graham
Honor Audiobook:  “The Wizards of Once” by Cressida Cowell and narrated by David Tennant

Pura Belpré (Author) Award honors a Latino writer whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience:

Award Winner:  “Lucky Broken Girl” by Ruth Behar
Honor Book: “The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora” by Pablo Cartaya
Honor Book: “The First Rule of Punk” by Celia C. Pérez

Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience.

Young Children Award Winner:  “Silent Days, Silent Dreams” by Allen Say
Middle School Award Winner:  “Macy McMillan and the Rainbow Goddess” by Shari Green
High School Award Winner:  “You’re Welcome, Universe” written and illustrated by Whitney Gardner

Stonewall Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award is given annually to children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender experience.

Award Winner:  “Little & Lion” by Brandy Colbert
Award Winner:  “The 57 Bus” by Dashka Slater
Honor Book:  “As the Crow Flies” by Melanie Gillman
Honor Book:  “The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue” by Mackenzi Lee

William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens.

Award Winner:  “The Hate U Give” by Angie Thomas
Finalist: “Dear Martin” by Nic Stone
Finalist:  “Devils Within” by S. F. Henson
Finalist:  “Saints and Misfits” by S. K. Ali
Finalist:  “Starfish” by Akemi Dawn Bowman

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults.

Award Winner:  “Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers” by Deborah Heiligman
Finalist:  “#NotYourPrincess: Voices of Native American Women” edited by Mary Beth Leatherdale and Lisa Charleyboy
Finalist:  “Eyes of the World: Robert Capa, Gerda Taro, and the Invention of Modern Photojournalism” by Marc Aronson and Marina Budhos
Finalist:  “The 57 Bus: A True Story of Two Teenagers and the Crime That Changed Their Lives” by Dashka Slater
Finalist:  “The Whydah: A Pirate Ship Feared, Wrecked, and Found” by Martin W. Sandler