2020 Printz and Alex Award Winners | Daniel Boone Regional Library

2020 Printz and Alex Award Winners

Early every year, the American Library Association (ALA) hosts its annual Youth Media Awards Press Conference. At this time, authors and illustrators of children’s and young adult literature are recognized for the amazing works they have published over the last year.

The Michael L. Printz Award is given to a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA). In addition to this year’s winning title, there were also four honor books chosen:

Award Winner: “Dig” by A.S. King
Honor Book: “The Beast Player” written by Nahoko Uehashi and translated by Cathy Hirano
Honor Book: “Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me” written by Mariko Tamaki and illustrated by Rosemary Valero-O’Connell
Honor Book: “Ordinary Hazards: A Memoir” by Nikki Grimes
Honor Book: “Where the World Ends” by Geraldine McCaughrean

The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18. This year’s award-winning titles include:

A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World” by C.A. Fletcher
Do You Dream of Terra-Two?” by Temi Oh
Dominicana” by Angie Cruz
Gender Queer: A Memoir” by Maia Kobabe
High School” by Sara Quin and Tegan Quin
In Waves” by AJ Dungo
Middlegame” by Seanan McGuire
The Nickel Boys” by Colson Whitehead
Red, White & Royal Blue” by Casey McQuiston
The Swallows” by Lisa Lutz

Leave a Reply