New DVD List: The Farewell & More

Posted on Thursday, December 12, 2019 by Dewey Decimal Diver

Here is a new DVD list highlighting various titles recently added to the library’s collection.

The Farewell
Website / Reviews
Playing earlier this year at Ragtag Cinema, this fictional film follows Chinese-born, U.S.-raised Billi as she reluctantly returns to China to find that, although the whole family knows their beloved matriarch has been given mere weeks to live, everyone has decided not to tell her. To assure her happiness, they gather under the joyful guise of an expedited wedding, uniting family members scattered among new homes abroad. Continue reading “New DVD List: The Farewell & More”

Reader Review: The Oregon Trail

Posted on Monday, December 9, 2019 by patron reviewer

Oregon Trail book coverRinker Buck purchased a team of three mules and a wagon to travel from Missouri to Oregon with his brother … in 2011. While traversing dangerous terrain, dodging interstates and chasing mules in slippers, Rinker brings the early Oregon trail pioneer’s stories to life in the book “The Oregon Trail” by describing his own modern challenges, and then comparing them to the challenges that the pioneers faced. Woven throughout the book are his memories of his father, giving the book a personal touch I was not expecting. While much of the book is serious, humor is sprinkled throughout, making it an entertaining read.

Three words that describe this book: Entertaining, educational, personal

You might want to pick this book up if: you enjoy American history, travel, or enjoy reading about unusual adventures.

-Julia

Literary Links: A Brief History of Human Flight

Posted on Sunday, December 8, 2019 by Katherine

Wright Brothers The Dream of Flight, drawing of hot air balloon over crowd of people

On December 17, 1903, the Wright brothers made their first successful airplane flight on a beach in Kitty Hawk, North Carolina. It lasted a mere 12 seconds and covered 120 feet. There would be three more flights that day, the longest totaling 59 seconds and covering 852 feet. But Wilbur and Orville Wright were certainly not the first humans to dream of flight, or even to attempt it. Wilbur Wright put it best:

“The desire to fly is an idea handed down to us by our ancestors who…looked enviously on the birds soaring freely through space…on the infinite highway of the air.”

Balloonists book coverLong before the Wright brothers had ever dreamed of a flying machine that would carry a person into the air, the first aeronauts had already left solid ground behind. In “The Balloonists” L.T.C. Rolt reveals the story of another pair of brothers who had their hearts set on flight. The Montgolfier brothers, Joseph-Michel and Jacques-Étienne, made history in 1783 with the first hot air balloon flight; others soon followed them into the skies. Rolt draws from journals and contemporary accounts to recount the lives and exploits of these early balloonists who paved the way for the Wright brothers. Continue reading “Literary Links: A Brief History of Human Flight”

Know Your Dystopias: The Hard Tomorrow

Posted on Friday, December 6, 2019 by Eric

A growing number of people find the idea of bringing a child into the world a fraught decision, because of both the world the child might inherit, and their potential impact on a struggling world. A recent spate of articles on the subject of childbearing in the context of a climate crisis reveals how widespread this feeling has become. Terms like “anti-natalist,” and groups like BirthStrike, are becoming more mainstream. Yet, children like Greta Thunberg are also being applauded for their leadership and held up as symbols of hope. So much so that Ms. Thunberg felt compelled to chastise the older generation for this at the United Nations. It is not uncommon for people to burden children with hopes and fears for the future. As anxiety about the future increases, so does this burden.  Continue reading “Know Your Dystopias: The Hard Tomorrow”

Debut Author Spotlight: December 2019

Posted on Wednesday, December 4, 2019 by Katherine

As we approach the end of the year, the list of books by debut fiction authors continues to shrink, but there are still some gems coming out in December. And as always, please visit our catalog for the complete list.

All That's Bright and Goone book coverAll That’s Bright and Gone” by Eliza Nellums

I know my brother is dead. But sometimes Mama gets confused.

There’s plenty about the grownup world that 6-year-old Aoife doesn’t understand. Like what happened to her big brother Theo and why her mama is in the hospital instead of home where she belongs. Uncle Donny says she just needs to be patient, but Aoife’s sure her mama won’t be able to come home until Aoife learns what really happened to her brother. The trouble is no one wants to talk about Theo because he was murdered. But by whom?

With her imaginary friend Teddy by her side and the detecting skills of her nosy next door neighbor, Aoife sets out to uncover the truth about her family. But as her search takes her from the banks of Theo’s secret hideout by the river to the rooftops overlooking Detroit, Aoife will learn that some secrets can’t stay hidden forever and sometimes the pain we bury is the biggest secret of them all.

Driven by Aoife’s childlike sincerity and colored by her vivid imagination, “All That’s Bright and Gone” illuminates the unshakeable bond between families — and the lengths we’ll go to bring our loved ones home.

Continue reading “Debut Author Spotlight: December 2019”

Author Interview: Tim Scherrer

Posted on Wednesday, November 27, 2019 by Dewey Decimal Diver

Tim Scherrer is a Columbia, MO author who just came out with his debut book, “Crashed the Gate Doing Ninety-Eight: The Citizens Band Radio and American Culture.” Scherrer recently gave a talk about the book at the Columbia Public Library back in September. Citizens band (CB) radios created America’s first form of electronic social media, where strangers created virtual communities with shared purposes and unique “slanguage.” The book covers the creation, boom and decline of CB radio use as well as the pop culture manifestations of the phenomenon. I recently emailed some interview questions to him, and he was kind enough to take time out of his schedule to write back some answers. Continue reading “Author Interview: Tim Scherrer”

Essays: A Woman’s Perspective

Posted on Monday, November 25, 2019 by Reading Addict

1920s advertisement of woman sitting with a sheet of paperJust say the word “essay” and many people are immediately transported back to high school and the trauma of having to write a paper. I have certainly had those traumatic moments but I have lived enough (or read enough?) to get to the point that I now adore reading the format. Reading a book of essays is like having a really great magazine with interesting articles but without the annoying commercial advertisements. Continue reading “Essays: A Woman’s Perspective”

Harmonious for the Holidays

Posted on Friday, November 22, 2019 by Ida

drawing of man and woman shouting at each other from opposite side of a canyonWe’re fast approaching the time of year when people all across the country engage in the long-observed holiday tradition of gathering family members together and bickering with them.  Most of us are familiar with the stereotypical dinner scene. Your cousin refers to the dish you’re passing as yams, and your sibling insists the correct term is sweet potatoes. Then tempers flare over whether marshmallows should be put on top of root vegetables. Meanwhile at the other end of the table, your dad and your uncle are feuding over capital gains tax rates. Continue reading “Harmonious for the Holidays”

LibraryReads: November 2019

Posted on Wednesday, November 20, 2019 by Kat

Library Reads logoAs the days get shorter and the nights colder, some great, new books are in order. This month, librarians across the nation are sharing books of love and delight (and if those aren’t your things, there’s a thriller and some nonfiction in there, too) in LibraryReads. I’m particularly excited for Erin Morgenstern’s newest and Jenny Slate’s book of essays. Enjoy!

The Starless Sea book coverThe Starless Sea” by Erin Morgenstern

A moving labyrinth of a story, ever changing and evolving. What begins as a mysterious thread in a book, an opportunity taken or missed and the consequences of the choice, evolves into a story similar to a choose-your-own adventure tale or a mystical video game experience. For fans of Neil Gaiman, Susanna Clarke, and Lev Grossman.
~Cynde Suite, Bartow County Library, Cartersville, GA

Get A Life, Chloe Brown book coverGet A Life, Chloe Brown” by Talia Hibbert

Chloe is doing all she can to avoid being defined by her illness. Redford is a talented artist who was verbally abused by his former girlfriend. Smart and snarky, they find ways to help each other face their challenges. Snappy dialogue, dynamic characters and a realistic story make this a good choice for fans of Alyssa Cole and Jasmine Guillory.
~Paula Pergament, Lincolnwood Public Library, Lincolnwood, IL

Little Weirds book coverLittle Weirds” by Jenny Slate

“Weirdly delightful and beyond compare. Essays that provide a look into the comedian’s brain. For fans of Miranda July.”
~Jesica Sweedler DeHart, Neill Public Library, Pullman, WA

TWENTY-ONE TRUTHS ABOUT LOVE book coverTwenty-one Truths About Love” by Matthew Dicks

“Daniel Mayrock is struggling to find his way as a man, husband, and potential father. His story is told entirely in lists. Written as a form of therapy for himself, Daniel’s lists show his sense of humor and feelings of inadequacy. Funny, sad, uplifting but always relatable. A must read for fans of Rachel Joyce and Gabrielle Zevin.”
~Sam Sepulveda, Milford Town Library, Milford, MA

 

And here are the rest for your perusal: