LibraryReads: August 2019 – Daniel Boone Regional Library

LibraryReads: August 2019

Library Reads logoIt’s really summertime now, so grab a new book and sit in the shade (or stay inside, I won’t judge you!). We have a great lineup of LibraryReads books for August, so read on to find a favorite to stay cool with.

The Right Swipe book coverThe Right Swipe
by Alisha Rai

“An intelligent, multicultural contemporary romance. Rhi, CEO of the Crush dating app, and Samson, NFL star, embark on a joint project that turns into more than just talk. Issues of #MeToo in the tech industry and the NFL’s concussion problem are woven in. For readers of the Forbidden Heart series, Elle Wright, and Alyssa Cole.”
~Jessica Werner, The Seattle Public Library, Seattle, WA

The whisper man book coverThe Whisper Man
by Alex North

“Tom and his son Jake move to Featherbank to rebuild their life after the death of Tom’s wife; unknown to them, the town has a dark history and another little boy has gone missing and Jake begins to hear whispers in his new house. For fans of Joe Hill and Paul Tremblay.”
~Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington, NJ

Inland book coverInland
by Téa Obreht

“Obreht lays a mythical voice over an already dreamlike landscape of drought in Arizona. A mother and half-grown sons generate a powerful dynamic not often explored, and the youngest, who knows about scary beasts, brings magic and intuition. A journey into a barren world, inside and out. For fans of Larry Watson and Alice Hoffman.”
~Katherine Phenix, Rangeview Library District, Adams County, CO

Life and Other Inconveniences book coverLife and Other Inconveniences
by Kristan Higgins

“Explores the complex relationships between caregivers and their children, as four generations of one family reflect on their past, and the failing health of the family matriarch looms large. For readers who like fully developed characters with real-world problems, and fans of Jennifer Weiner and Susan Elizabeth Phillips.”
~Amanda Kowalcze, Green Hills Public Library District, Palos Hills, IL

And here are the rest of the librarian favorites for August:

Leave a Reply