LibraryReads: November 2019 – Daniel Boone Regional Library

LibraryReads: November 2019

Library Reads logoAs the days get shorter and the nights colder, some great, new books are in order. This month, librarians across the nation are sharing books of love and delight (and if those aren’t your things, there’s a thriller and some nonfiction in there, too) in LibraryReads. I’m particularly excited for Erin Morgenstern’s newest and Jenny Slate’s book of essays. Enjoy!

The Starless Sea book coverThe Starless Sea” by Erin Morgenstern

A moving labyrinth of a story, ever changing and evolving. What begins as a mysterious thread in a book, an opportunity taken or missed and the consequences of the choice, evolves into a story similar to a choose-your-own adventure tale or a mystical video game experience. For fans of Neil Gaiman, Susanna Clarke, and Lev Grossman.
~Cynde Suite, Bartow County Library, Cartersville, GA

Get A Life, Chloe Brown book coverGet A Life, Chloe Brown” by Talia Hibbert

Chloe is doing all she can to avoid being defined by her illness. Redford is a talented artist who was verbally abused by his former girlfriend. Smart and snarky, they find ways to help each other face their challenges. Snappy dialogue, dynamic characters and a realistic story make this a good choice for fans of Alyssa Cole and Jasmine Guillory.
~Paula Pergament, Lincolnwood Public Library, Lincolnwood, IL

Little Weirds book coverLittle Weirds” by Jenny Slate

“Weirdly delightful and beyond compare. Essays that provide a look into the comedian’s brain. For fans of Miranda July.”
~Jesica Sweedler DeHart, Neill Public Library, Pullman, WA

TWENTY-ONE TRUTHS ABOUT LOVE book coverTwenty-one Truths About Love” by Matthew Dicks

“Daniel Mayrock is struggling to find his way as a man, husband, and potential father. His story is told entirely in lists. Written as a form of therapy for himself, Daniel’s lists show his sense of humor and feelings of inadequacy. Funny, sad, uplifting but always relatable. A must read for fans of Rachel Joyce and Gabrielle Zevin.”
~Sam Sepulveda, Milford Town Library, Milford, MA

 

And here are the rest for your perusal:

Leave a Reply